Directed by: Anthony Asquith
Starring: Brian Ahern, Elissa Landi, Cyril McLagen, Nora Baring
Genre: Drama
Country: Great Britain
Running time: 84 minutes

Instrumentation List

Underground (2011):

2 Flutes (2nd dbl. picc.)
2 Oboes (2nd dbl. e.h.)
2 Clarinets (2nd dbl. b-clt)
2 Bassoons
4 Horns
2 Trumpets
3 Trombones
4 Percussionists
Piano (dbl. celesta)
Strings: 14,12,10,8,6


Underground review by Brian Barford

Silent film is closer to opera than much contemporary cinema. Its combination of images and musical accompaniment requires an emotional engagement and concentration that can create an immersive experience. Also, with silent film we are often reclaiming a neglected history and rediscovering lost works and lost stars. Hence, like opera, its appeal to enthusiasts and obsessive fans...

[Read full article]


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our cookie policy.